About Us What's this all about?

JOE LIVERNOIS | Founding Editor | joe@vomb.org
JULIE REYNOLDS MARTINEZ | Founding Editor | julie@vomb.org
CLAUDIA MELENDEZ SALINAS | Founding Editor | claudia@vomb.org
KATHY McKENZIE | Editor | admin@vomb.org

VOICES OF MONTEREY BAY | PO Box 547, Salinas CA 93902
CONTACT US | admin@vomb.org

Voices of Monterey Bay is a not-for-profit bilingual news organization serving Monterey and Santa Cruz counties. It was launched in 2017 by veteran local journalists who believe the region needs a new journalistic vision, while providing a central location for people who have been ignored by the traditional media to express themselves or to report news from their neighborhoods.

VOMB will concentrate on investigative reports and dynamic storytelling. It will also be a platform to Monterey Bay residents that have not been given the opportunity to speak to issues that concern them.

Uniquely, VOMB includes an instructional initiative that will include ongoing journalism training by veteran reporters and editors. The training will be available free to interested adults and youth, with the expectation that the work they produce will be featured here.

Our Mission: 
To cast light on the important issues that shape Monterey Bay with engaging news and investigation delivered from multiple platforms. To bridge cultural, linguistic and socioeconomic gaps through investigative reporting and engaging and nuanced storytelling.

Our Funding: As a not-for-profit organization, Voices of Monterey Bay has obtained temporary fiscal sponsorship and nonprofit status under the Institute for Nonprofit News. We are also funded by individual members, major charitable gifts, foundations and community partnerships. We depend on these contributions to continue our mission, and individual contributions to VOMB are tax deductible under IRS’s 501(c)(3) regulation.

Our Organization: 
Receiving independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit status is a priority of VOMB’s founders. Until then, the operations of VOMB will be administered by its core staff, including Julie Reynolds Martinez, Claudia Melendez Salinas, Kathryn McKenzie of North Monterey County and Joe Livernois of Monterey. Marcos Cabrera is director of the Monterey County Youth Media Project.

Our Advisory Committee: Voices of Monterey Bay has benefitted from the kind advice and support of many people in Monterey and Santa Cruz counties. See our advisory board here.

Our Financial Support: In the interest of transparency and to avoid the appearance of conflict, Voices of Monterey Bay will list its donors online.

Voices launched with the help of two contributions of a combined $15,000 from Tony Dann, a businessman from Carmel Valley, and from Morley Brown and Ron Weitzman, philanthropists and activists from Carmel Valley.

Since then, contributions include:

$40,000 — The Claire Giannini Fund*
$5,000 —
 Franklin Legacy Fund, The Fred Terman and Nan Borreson Fund of the Community Foundation . for Monterey County*.
$2,500 — Penelope Lockhart
$1,700 — Julie Engell
$1,500 — California Strawberry Commission, Monterey Bay Aquarium
$1,000 — Robert Montgomery, Rowland Rebele, Chuck Messenger, Robert Danziger, Gillian Neumeier, Andrea Duan, Joe and Loma Livernois, Mary Duan.
$500 to $999 —
Larry Parsons, Kim Solano, Loma Livernois, John Blankfort, Penelope Karas Lockhart (in memory of Sam and Edie Karas), Michael Beck, Eric and Carol Lee Petersen, Bill Maxfield, Neil Shapiro, Karen Campbell, Anonymous through a donor-advised fund of the Community Foundation for Monterey County.
$101 to $499 — Betsy Buchalter Adler, Julie Reynolds Martinez, Gary Thelander, Deborah Gill-Hesselgrave, Karin Strasser Kauffman, Maureen Lavengood, Katy Castagna, Bill Burleigh, Leslie Patino, Jane Haines, John Speyer and Consuelo Alba Speyer, Vinz Koller, Jonathan Phillips, Mary Adams, Wayne Ross, Melissa Smedley, Edith Frederick, Nancy Selfridge, Janjaap Photography, Nancy Harray, Douglas Wilhelm, Juan Uranga and Anna Caballero, Judith Archibald, John Sinclair, Sonja Koehler, Anne and Bob Herendeen, Amy Anderson, Peter Hiller, Dennis Mar, Susan Meister, Jane Parker, Lanny Larson, Liz and Marty Raptis Picco, Michael Fitzsimmons, Cristina Medina Dirksen, Timothy Smith, Robert Gotch, Michael DeLapa, Kristina Baer, Michael Stamp, Richard Johnson, 1 anonymous.
$10 to $100 — Catherine Crockett, Marc Del Piero, Macarena Hernandez, Mac McDonald, Heidi Feldman, Jean Evers, Loren Steck, Gary Karnes, William Monning, Carol McKibben, Mary McCarthy, John Pearse, Victor Almazan, Douglas Williams, Karen E. Smith Aurajo, Lisa Imanuelson, Yvonne Bowen, Peter Garneau, Paul Wilner, Juli Hofmann, Linda Locklin, Michael Helmes, David Beech, John Fensterwald, Joel Wilson, Dale Hillard, H.J. Maupin, Betty Matterson, Daryl Wise, Elissa Benson, Marla Anderson, Carl Christensen, Irwin Speizer, Lynn Kennedy, Barbara Meister, Denise Adams, Jeffrey Levine, Perry Rice, Robert Evans, Sandra Weaver, Jenny McAdams, John Gianelli,  Mary Gandesbery, Vanessa Vallarta, Peter Berry, Natalie Bernasconi, Tony Seton, Celeste Akkad, Karl Pallastrini, Kathryn Ramirez, Libby and Wayne Downey, Vanessa Jackson, Carol Hogeboom, Dan Laidman, Spencer Critchley, Susan Rosen, Bev Kreps, Amy Kennedy, John Ittelson, Vera Cordova, J. David Myers, Alice A. Green, Marjorie Kay, Amaury Berteaud, William Rothschild, Dominic Dursa, Patricia Lerman, Karen Ferlito, David J. Gordon, Jennifer Smith, Hugo Ferlito, Joanne Kelly, Cameron Torgenrud, Douglas Wenger, Susan Erickson, Kathleen Davis, Bernard Cook, John Ittelson, Jim and Julie Cunanan, Sherrie and Barry Amundsen, Leslie Austin, Gary Green, Virginia Gagne, John Livernois, Maria Gaura, Peter Hiller, Beverly Bean, Luana Conley, Steuart Samuels, Wild Ridge Organics, Claudia Melendez, Joseph Rodriguez, Carol Weesner, Linda Franklin, Frank Calamia, Susan Rochelle, Julie Tucker, John Pearse, Judy Karas, Jason Reed, Ed Mellinger, Robert Mulford, Barbara Moore, Michael Skoien, Elizabeth Nolan, Sue Cross, Michael Wellborn, Celia Sigmon, Jason Warburg, Kathy Lampkin, Fernando Hernandez, Victoria Manley Thompson, Helga Fellay, William Rawson, Margie McCurry, Deborah Christie, Cindy Davis, Jesse Herrera, Anna Lowery, Steve Howell, Patricia Marshall, Jeffrey Whitmore, Arnold and Marianne Owens, Andrew Kreyche, Lynne Yaghoubian, Peggy Schmidt, Myrleen Fisher, Betsy Galbreath, Jeremy Woodward, Sandra K. Nisley-Leader, Louise Berry, Nadine Semer, Hidden Treasures Monterey, Douglas Kasunich, Barbara Simpson,  P. Clapp, Kathryn Nichols, Phillip Molnar, Vibeke Norgaard, Edwin Lee, National Coalition Building Institute Monterey County, Arlen Grossman, Carl Miller, Rhickan, 19 anonymous.


Mobilizers: Leonora Clow
Community Builders: Catherine Fanoe
Empowered: Richard Kreeger, Mary Adams, Chris Campbell, Marcella McClure, Michael Skoien, Edmundo Fimbres, Marla Anderson
Ice Breakers: Amaury Berteaud, Claudia Meléndez Salinas, Davide Vieira, Myrleen Fisher, Nancy Selfridge,  Consuelo Alba-Speyer,  J. David Myers, Kim Stemler, Gene Davis, Edith Frederick, Tama Olver, Spencer Critchley, Jill Kasapigil, Douglas Kasunich, Nancy Harray, Peggy Schmidt, Nona Childress, Peggy Bocox

*  To support Voices’ Youth Journalism Project